Oak pollen count SIX TIMES NORMAL! Clogged sinuses SUCK!


Hello, Alpheans!

In case you’ve been wondering what’s going on and why I haven’t posted the next scene it’s because it still isn’t finished. I’ve written almost 1,000 words for it, but it’s going to be a long scene and it’s only about half-finished. What’s taking so long? Two things. First, the scene is a bit more complex than some of the others; and secondly, my sinuses have been killing me this week. A lot of you with environmental allergies already know this, but the oak pollen count is off the charts this year with some estimates as high as SIX TIMES the normal pollen bloom. I’m not normally susceptible to environmental allergies, but the pollen has me in a helluva fit this year. Not being all that familiar with environmental allergies I’ve tried a lot of things, from Claritin-D to menthol inhalers to homeopathic nasal sprays with varying degrees of success but no lasting, permanent relief. It’s hard to write a complex scene when your head feels like an overstuffed melon that’s been thrown against the wall a few times too many.

But I am pushing through it, writing a couple hundred words a day, on average. I hope to have it done by the end of the weekend.

Also, I won’t be able to attend the Largo/Seminole Writing Workshop tomorrow morning. Having been laid off last month (was it last month?) I have very limited funds for workshops and I’m eliminating all workshops that aren’t free (apart from the Treasure Island WordSmitten Workshop because it’s just too damned good and I just can’t not go to that one. My apologies to the IAAA.)

3 responses to “Oak pollen count SIX TIMES NORMAL! Clogged sinuses SUCK!

  1. Tristan I have the Oak pollen allergy to the max, it sux big time , taking breathing treatments every 4hours, and all the allergy meds I can get , sorry you are going throught it too. Huggs I am so proud of you, and the book is going to be the greatest Love Zona

  2. Try Zyrtec its the only one that works for me

    • Thank you, Zona! If this continues I’ll give it a try. I’m using Claritin-D right now and sometimes it helps and sometimes it doesn’t.

Leave a Reply

