A New Beginning for Mortality, Interrupted


Hello, Alpheans!

One of the problems I’ve had with writing this draft is that I keep going backward, meaning that instead of picking up from the end of the last scene of Chapter 5 that I wrote and writing what comes next, I keep starting from the first page of the draft and writing what happened before that – going backward. The downside is that my story obviously isn’t moving forward, but the upside is that the beginning of the story is getting much better!

At first, the draft started with the prologue scene in the tavern where the conspirators hatched their plot. I liked it. It was good. Not a bad hook. Dropped a fair number of seeds. I liked it. But when I wrote the subsequent chapters I realized a problem: there was no way for the reader to relate to the central character because she becomes incapacitated almost immediately after she is introduced in the draft.

So, I backed the story up a bit. I wrote a new prologue that showed the central character and introduced her to the reader so they would have a better sense of who she is before she becomes altered. I liked it. It was good. Not a bad hook. Dropped a fair number of seeds. I liked it. But when I read the new prologue at the Clearwater Writer’s group this week I noticed another problem: I’ve introduced the central character but not the setting.

So, I backed the story up a bit. I wrote a new beginning to the story (I say “new beginning” because I may decide to start the novel by going right into Chapter One rather than a Prologue) that introduces the setting so the reader will know the answer to those very important questions: “where” and “when”. I like it. It’s good. It even has a better hook and I drop a couple of seeds. I like it. I hope you do too, but you’ll have to tell me.

Leave a Reply

