Well, they say when you hit a dead-end… turn around


Something isn’t right about what I’ve written for Part 2 so far. After writing the three scenes for Chapter 11 and one scene for Chapter 12, I found myself at a dead end. I struggled to find where the story should go from there. Everything I did manage to write wasn’t ‘right’ once I looked at it. The writing itself wasn’t bad, all things considered. It was the story that, while compelling, didn’t have the ring of believability it needs.

Essentially, I’m moving Zsaka’s character development much too fast, and by doing so I’ve broken believability and torpedoed her likability. So, I need to completely reassess what Part 2 is going to look like and what the storyline will include.

This is probably what created my writers’ block. I probably sensed subconsciously that I was taking the story in the wrong direction and that’s why I couldn’t think of what should happen next. Hopefully, by putting the focus back on Zsaka’s development as a character the writers’ block will iron itself out.

4 responses to “Well, they say when you hit a dead-end… turn around

  1. Vicki Harrison

    Tristan, I’m wouldn’t call Myself an expert in the knowledge and study or writing…..I am simply a fairly avid reader and I felt that U moved Zshaka’s character along nicely (maybe I’m visualizing a movie type setting, where they jump forward time-wise because the in-between years {at the orphanige}don’t neccassarily matter as much. I very much like Zshaka’s character. Now, this is merely a suggestion, utimately Ur story is up to U, in keeping with the story so far, I’d like to step back atlittle and know where The Baron and his Wife ending up…have they been looking for Zshaka? Have they kept any sort of ties with Viktor (even thu the rest of the towns people presume them dead) Did they start over completely with new identities as well, making new aquantances? and what of Viktor, his servant, the priest, have they continued to scheme in the name of God? These are things I’m curious to know. I’m sure U have already thoughtfully consider some or all of these questions. 😉

  2. Vicki Harrison

    p.s. sorry about the typos and mis-spellings…lol

  3. Yes, Vicki, I’ve thought about those things and I have answers for all of those questions, but I don’t yet know if I’ve found the best way to reveal those answers in the story ahead. Thanks for asking, as that’s a great question to ask. Please keep reading and asking.

  4. Vicki Harrison

    😀 kinda figured U did, I’ll be looking forward to reading more, as U post.

Leave a Reply

