…yielding a creative explosion


Hey, everyone!

It seems that shift in focus was exactly what I have been needing. Mortality, Interrupted is clearly the right book for me to be writing, and right now is clearly the wrong time for me to be writing it. Since switching to the Royal Redemption story and using Rachel Aaron’s Five Plotting Steps from the outset, the story is coming together unbelievably fast! I have come up with a story arc big enough for three books, I believe, and I have the full synopsis of the first book, most of the synopsis for the second and have started on the third (and I generally know how that one will go, also). Rachel Aaron, wherever you are, your methods are worth gold!

Over the next several days I should have all the synopses done and then I’m going to write an outline of the first five chapters of the first book, which I’m calling Royal Redemption. (FYI: “Royal Redemption” is just a working title. I don’t think the final product will be called that, but that’s probably a common thing.)

I tell you what; scaling down to a smaller project has really energized my writing. I haven’t been this excited about writing in maybe more than a year. I can’t wait to be finished with the synopses and outlines so I can start writing! Now that I’m figuring out what these characters do, I want to watch them in my mind’s eye, hear them talk, be in their world with them. I want to go to places like Locust Grove to hear leaves rustling under Kara’s feet as she dashes out of the sight of the village militia, head over to Millington to catch the gentle snort of Lord Andrew’s horse as he returns from checking on his tired men, then on down to Tilghman to hear the sizzle of a boar turning on a spit as the fat melts and drips into the fire during the sweltering afternoon of a Midsummer’s revel. By God, this place is alive!

I can’t wait to start exploring!

6 responses to “…yielding a creative explosion

  1. Sounds wonderful! So glad you are writing again. Can hardly wait to hear the story!

  2. I am so happy you are writing again and you’ve gotten back your enthusiasm! The setting is coming to life as you write now. I will have to go back and look at Rachel’s post and see what I can come away with. Well done, Tristan. Keep at it.

  3. Hey Tristan:

    I can almost feel and see what you were describing in your brief description of what YOU feel and hear. It looks to me like you have finally found the right way for you to work. It’s interesting how outlining works for some writers–me? I could never outline as I don’t have the patience. But I know it works for you, so keep on writing–THAT’S the important thing. I would be most interested in reading your updates.

  4. Love the energy in this post, it’s kinda contagious! The title “Mortality Interrupted” is excellent and Royal Redemption ain’t half bad either. 🙂 Isn’t Rachel Aaron great? I’ve read all her books to date and recently drew a huge amount of inspiration from her post, “How I Went From Writing 2,000 Words a Day to 10,000 Words a Day.” Thank you for the link to her plotting advice. I’m glad to have discovered your blog and stunning artwork. May the muse be with you.

  5. Thanks so much! I hadn’t heard of Rachel Aaron before I encountered the same post you did, but that post blew me away. Shortly afterward, I found her plotting advice, and that’s already produced HUGE dividends. I’ve never felt more clear about what I’m writing and it has made me much more productive just in the planning stages of writing. I’ve had to divide my focus a bit lately as I finally managed to get a paid writing gig (!) for a local online magazine and prepare to start college next week, but I’m still thoroughly stoked about the fantasy project. As to the images on my site, they’re all culled from the internet – all I did was find them (…and in the darkness bind them). But the original artists and models own the rights and I’m technically being bad. But I’m not using the images to generate revenue of any kind so I don’t think I’ve actually infringed on anyone’s copyrights. If I’m wrong, though, I’m sure someone will let me know. *LOL*
    Thank you very much for your wonderful comments, and may the Muses be with you, also.

  6. Congratulations on the paid gig! Even better that it is a writing one!! Thanks for the extra recommendation on the Rachel Aaron method, I’ll have to give it a go and see if it gels. 🙂 Good luck with the books!

Leave a Reply

