What I’m thankful for on Thanksgiving


Hello, everyone!

This Thanksgiving, I have a lot to be thankful for. I have a wonderful family; and while I’ve always been aware of how richly I am blessed to have a family that openly loves and supports each other, as each annual Thanksgiving comes around that blessing becomes all the more precious to me as I see how rare that blessing truly is. No matter what, our family has always been there for each other whenever any one of us has needed help. Now, we have all the same disputes and arguments and frustrations and irritations of any family. Sometimes we get downright furious with one another, rightly or wrongly. But if any one of us is in trouble, none of that matters – the “Berry Patch” as we call ourselves rallies and comes together, knowing that here will be plenty of time after the crisis to resume our petty disputes once the more important business of being a family, of being good to each other and doing good for each other as a loving family should is taken care of. So, for that I am so very grateful.

I’m also thankful that I have been blessed with some innate talent to write. Whether that talent will be sufficient enough to provide some sort of living for me once I’ve learned to pair that talent with sufficient skill at the craft remains to be seen, but I’ve been blessed nonetheless and it remains up to me to do all I can to take fullest advantage of whatever measure of talent I’ve been blessed to receive.

And I’m thankful for each of you who are following my progress as I learn this craft of writing. I’ve said this before, but when I used to read on the Acknowledgement pages of novels that writers were thankful to certain people who believed in them at the beginning and that it was that early support that got them through the difficult days of learning the craft, and furthermore, that without that early support they might not have been able to make it. I couldn’t imagine then how that could be, that such an obviously good writer could doubt themselves or their ability. But whether I ever receive that commercial nod or not, I can certainly attest to the truthfulness of those sentiments. Without you who are reading my blog now, without your support and encouragement, I wouldn’t have gotten to where I am now; so if I’m ever blessed to become published commercially I will be all the more grateful for all of you who will have made it possible.

But today, as I am reflecting upon all the things I am thankful for, all of you are very much a part of that reflection and I cannot allow this day to pass without saying so, without making certain you are a part of my Thanksgiving because I am so thankful for each and every one of you who have made this lonely journey so much less lonely for walking it with me.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone.

2 responses to “What I’m thankful for on Thanksgiving

  1. I’m glad you’re in my life, Tristan. God brings us all together for a reason. I celebrate that, whatever that reason is. Peace be with you and your family today and always.

  2. I too am glad your in my life! Family is the most important thing in life! May God contoinue to bless you with your writing and your riches will grow! God bless you my friend!

Leave a Reply

