TristanBerry.com Relaunched


Well, as you all can see, I’ve finally managed to get my site hosting back up and running. It feels good, it really does.

And although my site was dormant for about a year, I was not. I’ve really grown spiritually and personally over the past twelve months, and I spent much of my mental time trying to figure out how those internal changes would impact my writing.

For a start, I think a change in tone is in order. Looking back at my writing, I can see that, while I’ve always been drawn to the theme of good versus evil and the eventual triumph of good over evil, it was apparent from my tone that evil, nonetheless, held a certain degree of fascination for me. That has to go.

And speaking of theme, my preferred theme of the defeat of evil was not as apparent as I feel it ought to be in my writing. I was trying too hard to appeal to the darker side of a reader’s nature in an attempt to draw it out and play with it. That’s arrogant and foolish; and that stops,too.

I also feel that, whether it was noticed or not, I have been extremely arrogant in my dealings with all of you. I was ruled by a pridefulness that was as insidious as it was insulting. I knew it was there, but I had no idea how big it was or how much damage it was doing to so many personal and professional relationships, and all I can say is that I’m very sorry.

All things considered, I have conducted myself in a very unprofessional manner, making promises to other writers when they’ve asked for help and not following through being a particular vice. I was not good to people, truly, and that also stops.

I was writing to fulfill a need within myself – to remedy a perceived lack within. I was writing because I wanted to be praised for creating something new, and whenever I received that praise I reveled in it.

That’s horrible conduct and a poor reason to do anything. It’s a selfish motive, and I acted like a real jerk at times.

I don’t want my writing to be for self-aggrandizement anymore. It’s not about me, and it never should have been in the first place. I want all of my writing from now on to be inspired by and point toward God.

I am mindful that this may cost me some of the support that I’ve enjoyed over the past several years. I hope it doesn’t, but that’s being a little unrealistic, I think. Well, it will be what it will be. I hope that you all will stick with me and give this a chance.

Thank you so much, all of you, for all of your support over the years. I hope you won’t feel it was in vain.

5 responses to “TristanBerry.com Relaunched

  1. Thank you for your transparency in sharing your short comings and growth. Healing and growth can only come to ourselves and others through sharing our full experiences so I truly appreciate you for sharing your truth. I pray that you continue to be enlightened on your path in life and that you continue to bless us with your gift of communicating to God’s diverse masses. May blessings and growth continue to flow to you and to others through you. I look forward to seeing what your gift gives to world!

  2. I’ve known you for a while, Tristan, and never thought you arrogant or self-centered. Floundering, maybe, but I always thought you had a heart of gold. I hope now you can find your writing is easier. Once you begin to follow your calling because it is a gift, not because it sounded like a good thing to do, you’ll notice all sorts of doors will open. Write for you, your love for it, your love for God because He gave you that talent, and all will be well. Honor him by not wasting the talent He gave you. Write, just write. Don’t worry too much in the beginning about everything being perfect. Get it down, then fluff it up, make it pretty, but get His words out of you. I’ll be waiting to see what you come up with and I hope to see a completed work by the end of 2015.

    Your biggest fan, (next to Lisa) 😉

  3. Many productive days of writing Tristan… Hope you are finding your niche.

Leave a Reply

